top of page

New South Wales: Maggie Morris

Updated: Nov 17, 2020

Maggie Morris, who met the practice at age 23, reflects on 50 years of her encounter and practise of Nichiren Daishonin's Buddhism.

What is a passage from Nichiren Daishonin or the three Presidents that encourages you through difficulty?


Maggie: This passage from the Daishonin always encourages me. By adopting the courageous spirit of the Lion King, I will always achieve a breakthrough.


A woman who embraces the lion king of the Lotus Sutra never fears any of the beasts of hell or of the realms of hungry spirits and animals. All the offenses committed by a woman in her lifetime are like dry grass, and the single character of myo of the Lotus Sutra is like a small spark. When a small spark is set to a large expanse of grass, not only the grass but also the big trees and large stones will all be consumed. Such is the power of the fire of wisdom in the single character myo. Not only will all offenses vanish, but they will become sources of benefit. This is what changing poison into amrita means.

(WND, 949) The Drum at the Gate of Thunder

Written to the lay nun Sennichi on October 19, 1278


What is your prime point of faith, and how have you maintained your seeking spirit to continue to encourage members?


Maggie: “To just do it! To have a go!" This guidance sums up my prime point of faith.

I can maintain my seeking spirit to encourage members. How? By always, always showing actual proof. Thereby giving them hope to make their own breakthrough. Action speaks louder than words!

The mentor-disciple relationship is not a theory. You have to live it. This is something that I understood early on - to stand up and practice in our family and community.

I absolutely owe my whole life and everything I've done to this practice...this is why I can show gratitude every single day. Buddhism is not part of my life - it is my life, therefore I attribute all my life's benefits to this practice and training I have received.


Showing actual proof has always been an important part of our practice - showing actual proof and having a sense of gratitude is what this practice is about..!


What would you like to share with the youth who are going to shoulder the future of kosen-rufu?


Maggie: I want to be able to share everything I've learned from Nichiren Buddhism over the 50 years of my practice, from a 23 year old young woman to a 73 year old woman and everything in between! In essence, my experiences over these years would really be no different to what today's youth are experiencing. So I will always be there to support, inspire, motivate, encourage and just be there for you all. I can state unequivocally that there is nothing you cannot achieve in your lives. I am still always showing actual proof in my day-to-day life.


Develop good friendships, have a good work ethic, show actual proof, discover your mission, have the immense joy of holding your own group meetings, challenge your life, have courage, have a vision, activities - do it all! It's for your growth but above all show gratitude and appreciation to everything and everybody around you, it is all for your own development and human revolution


With our mentor President Ikeda constantly by our side, showing us the way forward, how can you fail?



Post-Interview:

I pioneered the young women's division (YWD) in Australia over 50 years ago. Now at 73 years of age, I am immensely proud that my son Daniel & his wife Ami carry the family baton as youth members. I am so happy to be able to celebrate the 90th anniversary of the Soka Gakkai together!



104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page