top of page

Victoria: Patricia Hillman

Updated: Nov 20, 2020



What is a passage from Nichiren Daishonin or the three Presidents that encourages you through difficulty?


Patricia: I began practising Nichiren’s Buddhism on 31 May 1984. Although I signed the paperwork to become a member of Soka Gakkai on 1 June 1984, the first day of Winter. The passage ‘Winter always turns to Spring’ has always been of significance throughout my life.


Through the practice, I have come to understand that the obstacles and challenges that we face in life will always be there, but it is how I can learn and grow from each of these experiences that is truly significant. And as such, I constantly strive not to have a perfect life, but rather to live a life that embraces and enjoys whatever comes my way, always knowing that ‘Winter always turns to Spring’. In addition, having a deep respect for the Gohonzon and knowing that only I can be responsible for my own life condition and the environment around me, has enabled me to experience absolute happiness.


During the earlier years of my practice, the Gosho was only starting to be published in English, and copies were hard to come by. It became a competition of who could get a copy! Due to its rarity, I treasured the Gosho greatly, and was determined to base my practice and life around it. I have always sought to encourage others through passages from the Gosho, rather than providing my own advice or opinion, or letting the emotion drive the conversation. Together with sincere and earnest daimoku for the happiness of others, I have been able to build a ‘buddhaland’ wherever I am.


What is your prime point of faith, and how have you maintained your seeking spirit to continue to encourage members?


Patricia: Continuously carrying out shakubuku has been a significant part of my life and my contribution to the kosen-rufu movement in Australia. In the early days of my practice in the 1980s, many of the members in Australia were introduced to the practice in Japan, where they had originated from. I would often read SGI and Buddhist publications on the train, with the hope that it would encourage strangers to ask me about Buddhism and the practice. Similar to wanting to share about a wonderful restaurant with friends, I also wanted to share the joy that the practice had brought into my life with as many people as possible, from all different backgrounds and nationalities.


Throughout my practice, I have always been encouraged to have a seeking mind. Meetings and dialogues have always been a wonderful opportunity for me to continue my human revolution. My leaders have always encouraged me to speak my mind, and share all of the various emotions that are part of being a human being, whether they be ups or downs. Part of my mission is to break the mould and expectations of how a Buddhist should be.


My friendship with other members has been a strong pillar in my life. My comrades in faith have continuously supported me in my ongoing human revolution, encouraging me to share with others from a ‘pure place’ and continue sowing the seeds of happiness, without expectation of when they would grow in a mighty tree of kosen-rufu! We should never have expectation of others or judgement of their experiences, as we are all unique and each have so much to contribute.


What would you like to share with the youth who are going to shoulder the future of kosen-rufu?


Patricia: The two key things that I would like to share with the current and future youth, is the importance of developing wisdom based on sincere prayer, and having a deep sense of responsibility for your actions. Holding this belief has provided me with opportunities to constantly challenge myself and continue along the path of human revolution. This has also enabled me to develop immense gratitude and appreciation for the practice.

Youth should not have the expectation that everything will be perfect, for it is only when we experience the challenges and turbulence of life are we able to bring out our full potential as a human beings.

By always exerting our best in whatever it is we are doing, we are demonstrating our inner Buddhahood through our individual actions, our attitudes and the way that we carry ourselves in society. Also key is having respect for the Gohonzon, respect for yourself and respect for your environment. Through this you will develop a true sense of care and the magnitude of our everyday actions will be clear. Always reflect on how we can sincerely show support for the practice and all members, this will allow you to develop into individuals of great courage and dedication.


96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page